ISBN-13: 978-1416548560

Stories in this collection:

  • Winter Light
  • The Village
  • The Night Johnny Ace Died
  • Water People
  • Texas City, 1947
  • Mist
  • A Season of Regret
  • The Molester
  • The Burning of the Flag
  • Why Bugsy Siegel Was a Friend of Mine
  • Jesus Out to Sea

In this moving collection of short stories, James Lee Burke elegantly marries his flair for gripping storytelling with his lyrical writing style and complex, fascinating character portraits. The backdrop of the hurricane-ravaged Gulf Coast is a versatile setting for Burke’s stories, which cover the scope of the human experience — from love and sex to domestic abuse to war, death, and friendship.